Crystal Clear

One night I found myself, in the waters of mirror lake;
Caught up in reflection, without sound or move to make.
The surface still and quiet, the world a pane of glass;
Frozen in the moment, no time could ever pass.
Such a lucent clarity could never be described;
A beauty that, once broken, could never be revived.
I knew that at the lightest touch, a tremor of the hand;
The whole of it would shatter, the glass would turn to sand.
Curse my frail humanity, I willed my hand to stay;
But the mirror turned to dust, the image blew away.

Leave a Reply

